Making of a Memoir

My hopes of this blog are to be able to capture moments throughout our busy life with two toddlers, and be able keep those memories close, and watch my children blossom as each week passes.  Ian is 18 months, and Libby is 34 months.

We are working on letters, numbers 1-20, shapes, colors, and early writing skills thanks to the help of “The Letter of the Week” printables and ideas from http://www.confessionsofahomeschooler.com/, and we are currently just finishing up our first week of letter A.  I only snapped a few pictures this week, but hope to take more in the upcoming units.

After learning about ‘Big A’ and ‘Little A’, and the sound it makes, we learned about Apples, and did a craft that Libby and Ian both enjoyed with ripped up pieces of construction paper and glue.

I had pre-cut these squares with apples on them, and Libby arranged them from largest to smallest and pasted them down on her journal page.  We practiced using our vocabulary regarding size (largest, biggest, smallest, tiniest).

This was a game where she pasted the ‘Big A’ or ‘Little a’ to the matching apple on the tree.

And then we played a math game where Libby counted the number of seeds in the apple, and matched the correct number to the box beside it.  I used my new laminator (which I love!) to laminate this game so we can play it again and again.

Ian did this.

Which kept him entertained for about 10 minutes.  He is very interested in what Libby is doing, but Libby is protective of her work.  I did give Ian his own print-outs to color many days this week, but he has limited interest.  I’m trying to figure out more activities to keep him busy!  He’s a boy on the go!

We also played play doh just about every day this week, thanks to the awesome gift from my secret sister!  Both of the kids really enjoy this activity, and it gives me a chance to clean up a bit or get a meal made.

We also did walks and trips to the park this week, and went to Libbys friend Sam’s 4th Birthday party where they had a blast playing in the water and mud!

Next week I will also be incorporating some activities from the Before Five in a Row program, and I really excited about it.  The program takes one classic storybook each week and expands it with learning activities, fun crafts, baking, and science.  My kids LOVE reading so I think they’ll get a kick out of it!  We’re kicking off this next week with the classic book, Corduroy.

Until next time!

6 thoughts on “Making of a Memoir

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your blog with me! I love to see what other like-minded mommy’s are up to. I LOVE the Confessions of a Homeschooler blog too! I am planning on doing her Letter of the Week curriculum in a few months when Hailey’s ready. Are you planning on Homeschooling all the way or just preschool? We’re going to Homeschool the whole way through.

    Keep up the good work momma!

    • Glad you like it! I love surfing blogs and seeing what everyone else is doing. We’re not sure if we’re going to homeschool past preschool, but leaning towards yes right now, at least for the first few years. We’re not in a great district here, and we move all the time making consistency hard. Plus, there is a great homeschool co-op here on base where we live that gets together a few times a week and do activities. Nothing is set in stone, and we can always change our mind if we give it a try and she’s not digging it 🙂

  2. I am just starting with this BFIAR thing, I am so excited to start it with my Daughter who is 38 months. I love all the inspiration that you have given me. You are doing AWESOME! I can’t wait to get the core, I just ordered it.
    BTW if your kids like play dough try the homemade GAK. We made this yesterday and it is totally awesome. http://lilluna.com/homemade-gak-recipe/

Leave a Reply

