Miss Adeline Kate!

Adeline Kate Halberstadt joined us Sunday night, 8/24/14, at 9:07pm.  She weighed 6lbs 6oz and was 20 inches long.  We were blessed to welcome her at home with our wonderful midwife Susan and her assistant Lori attending.

My water broke at 9:40am, but I wasn’t having any contractions so we decided to walk to the grocery store to pick up a few things to make chicken soup for dinner.  Once home, I still was not having contractions so Alex grilled up hamburgers and corn on the cob for lunch and we had a nice big lunch.

We spent much of the rest of the day trying to encourage labor.  We took several walks, took a shower, bounced on the ball, listened to my Hypnobabies tracks, rested and then eventually tried nipple stimulation, which did the trick.  At 6pm we began, and at 7pm I was having some contractions that were coming at regular intevals, ranging from 3-5 minutes apart but they still were not very strong.  I was just happy to be having contractions!

Contractions continued on their own as my body seemed to get the idea that it was time.  My mom put Libby and Ian to bed just before 8pm.  Ian had come into my bedroom to say goodnight but Libby hadn’t so after everyone had gone back downstairs I went into her room and laid with her snuggling her in bed to wish her sweet dreams.  I had two contractions while laying there, the second of which was much more intense than any had been up to that point.  I gave my final kisses and hugs and headed back to our bedroom.

 The pressure waves were coming closer together now with much more intensity.  Just before 9pm I began to feel pressure and that familiar pushy feeling.  Alex went to wake Libby and Ian snuck in from the down the hall.  I was leaning over the bed but I could not get comfortable as my legs were feeling weak and I felt that her head was coming too quickly.  Susan suggested that I lay down on my side and it was just what I needed.  I was able to grab my leg and push with more control.  With the next push, her head was out.  Susan easily removed the single nuchal cord, and then with the next push she was born at 9:07pm.

She let out a lustful cry and was put straight on my chest.  She was covered in vernix and gorgeous!  Ian and Libby joined Alex and I as we all loved on her and shared the joy of the moment.

I am so grateful for another wonderful birthing experience and two days later still feel on top of the world.  This has been my easiest recovery, and the kids have been so much help.

I am so thankful my sweet friend Emily Chapelle was able to be present and capture our amazing day in photos and video.  We will treasure them always!  Click below to open the beautiful video – we are so in love!  <Full discosure: a baby is born in this video including photos/video of birth, breastfeeding and placenta.  My 5 and 3 year olds who witnessed it were not offended, but if you might be, feel free to skip the video.>

Adeline Kate Halberstadt’s Homebirth Video

Leave a Reply

